A1 Whiteboard for A3s

[tweetmeme source="leanisgood" service="ow.ly"]

Jon Miller at the Gemba Panta Rei blog had a really cool idea and I think I am going to try it.  He suggested that you should abandon A3 thinking and adopt A1 thinking (he didn’t really say abandon but I think he he meant you should give A1 thought a try.)  His idea is that an A1 size paper, which has roughly 4 times the area of an A3 (see diagram below), is better because people can ‘huddle’ around it and that increases collaboration, flow of information, speed, and visibility (you should read the post (linked above) for yourself.  I am going to try it.

Image by Wikimedia Commons

Here is a slide of my whiteboard:

I probably won’t get a chance to use it until into January when I plan on using it during some autonomous maintenance activities.  I’ll keep you posted on how it goes.

Bruce

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

3 Responses

  1. Any update on using the A1?

  2. Looks interesting. What problems do you see it solving? Does the portability matter a lot to you?

    We are currently looking at how A3’s fit in work environments that lack wall space, or are too public for visual displays.

  3. From my point of view, you have the best info around. This site is a great ressource I just put in my bookmarks pro34

Leave a Reply

